top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Goguen

Songs of Suits: Why it gets the job done



Suits is one of my favorite TV shows of all time. Every time I watch an episode, I feel the need to get all of my work done, and do it better than anyone else. I tried to think about why this show has so much power to it... I considered the weight behind Harvey Spector's witty one-liners such as...


"I don't play the odds, I play the man"
"Work until you no longer have to introduce yourself"
"You wanna lose small, I wanna win big"
"97% of people who gave up are employed by the 3% who never gave up"

...just to name a few. While those are quite powerful, I believe the music carefully selected and placed in the episodes carry a lot more weight than Harvey's wit. Here are some wonderful songs I discovered upon watching Suits:


"Love Me Again" John Newman



"Know I've done wrong

Left your heart torn

Is that what devils do?"





"Bright Lights" Gary Clark Jr.



"You gonna know my name by the end of the night"





"40 Day Dream" Edward Sharp and the Magnetic Zeros



"I've been sleeping for 40 days and I know I'm sleeping 'cause this dream's too amazing"



"Judgement Day" Stealth


"So strike me down, take me away Debts are due, it's time to pay Face what I deserve Here comes judgment day"



"First" Cold War Kids




"Flying like a cannonball falling to the earth

Heavy as a feather when you hit the dirt"



"The Walker" Fitz and the Tantrums




"Can't keep up with my rhythm

Though they keep trying"





"Jungle" X Ambassadors & Jamie Commons





"I feel too cold to live but too young to die"





"The World (is Going up In Flames)" Charles Bradley



"This world is going up in flames And nobody wanna take the blame"





"Sleeping at Night" Caught a Ghost




"Make your mind up, you get right up And march to the mouth of the meaningless line up"




"Time Go" Caught a Ghost

"A little white lie, a big black sky, and emptiness open on the dashboard You feel a lack of self and it's someone else telling you to try where you failed before"



I encourage you to leave a comment and tell me what your favourite songs are from your favourite shows!


Suits airs Wednesdays on the USA Network.

39 views0 comments
bottom of page